Biscuits & Gravy from Easter’s Leftovers

I hope you all had a fantastic Easter or a great Sunday if you don’t celebrate. Like most holidays, I made way too much food because a good ham doesn’t come in small portions. I used the Slow Cooker Ham with Maple Brown Sugar Glaze recipe from No 2 Pencil. I found it on pinterest a while back and have had no need to find another ham recipe its so good! Since it was just the two of us this weekend, I now have a ton of leftovers. One of the things that saddens me the most is having to throw out food so I have become a pro at ‘leftover hacks’ and freezing extras right away if I know I wont get to them in time.

When it comes to ham, my favorite things to do with the leftovers is make breakfast (often breakfast for dinner)! Sometimes I will make egg bake or omelets, but I decided to switch it up this time and make biscuits and gravy. This may also have something to do with the fact that I have a ton of leftover biscuits too. Again, why can’t I buy biscuits in smaller portions? This is a really simple recipe for a few reasons. 1. If you have the ham and biscuits precooked, then you can whip this up in 15 minutes. 2. All the other ingredients are a staple in our kitchen so I always have them in stock. 3. You can easily alter the recipe for a large or small batch.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Ingredients:
2-4 Biscuits (premade or from scratch)
1½ cup Ham (cooked and diced)
1 tablespoon butter or oil
2 tablespoons Flour
2 cups milk
Seasonings to taste (salt & pepper)

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven for the biscuits. If you are making them from scratch, follow the directions on the box. If you are reheating biscuits from a previous meal, preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Once the oven is preheated, wrap the biscuits in foil and cook for 10-12 minutes.
  2. Dice ham into ½ inch cubes. In a large skillet, heat ham cubes over medium heat. Once fully cooked, add butter or oil to the pan to coat the ham cubes then add flour until evenly covered.
  3. Add milk to skillet and stir until desired consistency is reached (approx 5-10 minutes). Season to taste with salt and pepper (I like to add some garlic too).
  4. Pour ham gravy over biscuits and serve warm.

More leftovers? The best way to take biscuits and gravy for lunch the next day is to keep the biscuits separate from the gravy for storage and smother the gravy on top right before putting it in the microwave.

One thought on “Biscuits & Gravy from Easter’s Leftovers

  1. YUM, this sounds delicious! I am a huge fan of biscuits so I love this idea! Its always great to use leftovers in another recipe so you dont feel like youre eating the same thing every day… thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

