Liebster Award!

I have been seeing these Liebster Awards going around the blogging sphere so I was especially excited when Rachel of Countdowns and Cupcakes nominated me. Being new to blogging, I am excited to share more information about myself and to learn more about other bloggers!

What’s your all-time favorite food?
I have many favorite foods, including sushi, chili, and hot wings. My husband is not a huge fan of spicy foods but I absolutely love them. Whenever we go out to eat or I meet up with friends, I’ll look for the spiciest item on the menu. So my favorite food would be anything spicy!!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
There are so many places that I would love to visit, but if I had to pick just one, it would be Morocco. My husband spent two summers there studying and those trips made him into the man I fell in love with. It was our plan to honeymoon there but God had other plans and we moved to Denver instead. Someday, we’ll get there.

What’s one blog post you wish had gotten more attention?
All of them! Since this is only my 7th post, none of them have had much attention. When you’re done here, check them out? My blog could use some love!

What’s the story behind the name of your blog?
This is pretty self-explanatory but here we go. My blog name is Christy Marie Lifestyle Blog. My first name is Christy and Marie is my middle name. This is a Lifestyle Blog. Simple enough, right? It may change over time as I find a niche but this will do for now.

If you could have a do over on any moment of your life, what would it be and how would you change it?
I loved everything about our wedding (more on this in a post to come) but I swore I wouldn’t need a wedding planner and could plan and execute everything myself. In theory, this seemed like a great idea to save money. In hindsight, I was so busy the day of wedding that my mom spent the whole day coordinating for me. She loved having such a big part in the day but I wished she had been able to just enjoy it. Spending a little extra money for a day of wedding coordinator would have been really nice.

What’s your day job?
During the day, I work for a big financial insurance company. I do my best to keep my work life and my private (& social media) life separate, but I’ll let you know that I love my job and the people I work with everyday.

Who is your biggest blogging inspiration?
My husband has an amazing way with words. He’s not a blogger, but when he gets an idea, he can just go with it and that has always inspired me. Part of my blogging inspiration is to become better at taking my thoughts and finding the right words to express them. When it comes to an actual blogger that has inspired me, Helene from Helene in Between has been really influential as I find my own voice. She has so many great tips and ideas for growing your blog and staying true to yourself.

Are you a beach or mountain person?
Living in Denver so close to the mountains, you would think I was a mountain person. But no, I am a beach babe to the core. I would happily spend everyday on the beach in a bikini sipping umbrella drinks all day. Summer is my favorite season and I am counting down the days until its socially acceptable to break out the bikinis!

What’s one bad habit that you’d love to break?
I have the terrible habit of hitting the snooze button too many times in the morning. On a good morning, I will hit the snooze button once. Most days, I will use the excuse of ‘I showered yesterday so I can sleep in a bit longer’ or ‘I already picked on my outfit so another 10 minutes won’t hurt’ and hit snooze 2-3 times. On bad days, I hit snooze for an hour and I have 15 minutes to be dressed an out the door. I would like to say that the bad days are rare but in reality, it happens almost once a week. I would love to be the type of person that gets up with the first alarm but my bed is just too comfy.

What’s your favorite hobby (outside of blogging, of course)?
Growing up I was on a bowling league and my Opa would drive 3 hours almost every week to be there as my bowling coach. It was a great bonding experience for us. Although I only bowl every few months now, it’s still one of my favorite things to do. Just a few weeks ago I have my best game ever bowling 195 with 6 strikes (5 of which were in a row). In case you were wondering, yes, I do own my own ball and bowling shoes.

If you could see any musician in concert, who would it be?
Because in less than two weeks I will be seeing her, I have to say Britney. I am so incredibly excited for our girls’ trip to Vegas! A friend and I have been joking about see Britney together since we met. When we heard she was starting a residency a few years ago, joking got more serious and now that we both have steady income and jobs with vacation time… we have been talking about nothing else. I have a few ideas for blog posts about it so get ready for those coming soon.

11 Random Facts About Me:
-I am a huge coffee addict. I started drinking Starbucks at 16 and have been in love ever since. I regularly use the hashtag #starbucksismyspiritanimal on instagram and twitter. It’s not a joke, its real life… my spirit animal is a heavily caffeinate topless mermaid with two tails and perfect beach wave hair.
-My favorite color is green. I love that the color represents life and growth. It also makes my blue eyes shine.
-I love the matte line of lipstick by NYX Cosmetics. Currently have Siren and Sweet Pink. I love that they stay on all day without drying out your lips. I’ve been thinking of getting Zen Orchard for Vegas! Thoughts?
-I took French in high school and college. My fluency and vocabulary is probably the equivalent of a 4 year old. Maybe less now since I am out of practice.
-I broke my ankle while I was in college. I was  still on crutches for a 2 months when I was working as an Orientation Adviser. My favorite thing to do was tell the groups three stories of ‘how’ I broke my ankle. They loved deliberating which story was right.
-My husband is trying to turn me into a SciFi fan. We have Netflix binged Babylon 5, Star Trek Deep Space Nine, and Star Trek Enterprise. I like them but when he’s not home, I prefer to binge on chick flicks, comedy specials, and documentaries.
-For the first 20 years of my life, I owned exactly two bottles of perfume. One was a Christmas present from an aunt Elizabeth Taylor’s White Diamonds. Perfume was only worn for special occasions. Then I started working at Victoria’s Secret while in college and now I own about 25 and love changing my scent to match my outfit.
-My favorite flowers are Stargazer Lilies, especially when they are mixed with orange roses.
-I am currently obsessing over the Irish accent. I love watching videos of Saoirse Ronan and Joanna Cooper and practicing my Irish accent, current status: still sound like a silly American pretending to have an Irish accent.
-I love traveling! I have visited 20 states and lived in 3 of those. Globally, I have been to France, England, Cayman, Jamaica, and Mexico as well as a few cruises around the Caribbean.
-When I was little, my very Christian mother believed I may have been reincarnated from a dolphin because of the detailed stories I would tell.

Shout out to Charley at Borderline Unhinged who also nominated me! I will try to get to your questions in the next month or so. I am nominating Ashley from Wandering Weekenders, Cait from Cait’s Cozy Corner, Nicole of Bolt Blogs, Brook of Wide Open, and Vanessa of Surviving Chaos.

Your questions:
-How long have you been blogging and what inspired you to start?
-What is your favorite color and why?
-What is a current trend that you just can’t get on board with?
-What is your favorite trip you’ve ever taken?
-If you had to pick a theme song for your current stage in life, what would it be?
-Do you consider yourself to be critical thinking or creativity inspired? How does it effect how you blog?
-What is something that can always cheer you up on a gloomy day?
-If you were given $1,000,000.00 dollars at 8 am with the precedent that anything unspent by midnight had to be returned, how would you spend the day?
-Favorite quote?
-What is one thing that is just outside your comfort zone, but that you’ve always wanted to do?
-Would you rather get dressed up and go to or stay home in your pajamas?

Rules for the Liebster award:
Thank the Blogger that nominated you in your post and link back to their site
Display the Liebster Award logo on your blog
Answer 11 questions from the Blogger that nominated you
Tell your readers 11 random facts about you
Nominate 5-11 Bloggers with less than 1000 followers for the Liebster Awards
Ask your nominees to answer 11 questions
4 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. I can’t handle too much spice. My husband on the other hand hasn’t found a spicey food he didn’t love.

    My original blog name was simple too. I think as you grow it will definitely change.
    I think a huge part of blogging is finding your niche.

    Helene is pretty amazing! She actually cares about her readers too.

    Totally go with zen orchard!

    Thanks for the nomination! I’ll have a blog post up within the week 🙂 Just have to find some people to nominate!

    I’m going to go check out some more posts 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

